InVirtuo

Jump to: navigation, search


The virtual experience

WBGeneralSide.jpg

The IN VIRTUO—the virtual experience virtual-reality platform offered by ICube is mainly based on the offering of the following hardware resources:

  • an immersive workbench
  • an immersive wall augmented with a large-scale haptic device (parallel cable robot)
  • personal desktop-sized haptic devices
IncaPyramid.JPG

These devices are supplemented by the offering of software tools designed to help their use. Indeed, on top of hardware-related complications, such devices require to completely redesign the application HCI to make the best use of their abilities. In order to fill the lack of existing tools, standards, and techniques, software developments resulting from the IGG-team researches on HCI are made available along with the hardware.

Workbench

WBGeneralFrontRight.jpg

The workbench is an immersive virtual-reality device with a configuration well-adapted to interaction and manipulation tasks at human reach. The available hardware is based on two large screens (2 meters diagonal approximately) featuring active stereoscopic display. Immersion is also made available thanks to an optical tracking system to capture user's movements.

Along with this display device come multiple peripherals (wand and joysticks with buttons, two datagloves able to assess fingers bending and fingertip contacts). A SPIDAR parallel cable robot is also available to the user, as a force-feedback device.

Initially installed and managed by the Centre d'Etude du Calcul Parallèle et de la Visualisation (Study center of parallel computation and visualization) of UDS in February 2002, the available hardware has consistently evolved and happens to be mainly operated by IGG. Indeed, end of 2007, the projection system has been entirely renewed thanks to the funding from CPER IRMC Virtual Reality theme. Its access still remains free to the whole community of researchers at Université de Strasbourg.

Visual and haptic immersive wall

IncaHardware.JPG

This hybrid device is designed to put the user in the middle of visual immersion and force-feedback. It features a large immersive wall (3m x 2.25m) featuring active stereoscopic display and motion tracking, combined with a large-scale parallel cable robot (from the Haption company) acting as a force-feedback device. The user is then able to feel a full haptic feedback (forces and torques) in a large manipulation space (approximately 1 cubic-meter) on top on visual immersion.

This immersive virtual-reality hardware has been installed early 2011. Its acquisition has been made possible thanks to a grant of CPER IRMC. The parallel robot has been bought and is operated jointly with the Control, Vision & Robotics team of the LSIIT.

Haptic peripherals

Traditional haptic peripherals targeted at desktop use are also available. They mainly consist in 6DOF and 3DOF Phantoms from Sensable.


Software & specific developments

Most of the software developed uses the VRJuggler library in order to avoid directly managing the hardware configuration (data distribution, synchronization if required, and interfacing with the peripherals). The two devices (workbench et immersive wall) offer access to GNU/Linux et Microsoft Windows OS. One should note that any application is able to take advantage of the devices directly, without being compliant to any framework, provided it handles stereoscopy, user tracking, and all the required peripherals.

Multiple specific software have been developed in the IGG team of the LSIIT, some being offered to take advantage of the hardware of the platform. This toolbox is organized as a set of independent modules, each one offering a high-level functionality, such as an interaction technique or the communication with a specific type of peripheral device. As an example, one can find the VRLIB library, dedicated to provide 3D UI in immersive applications, or the C3 menu designed for application control in such an immersive environment.


Applications - Links

These platforms are mostly used in the context of the HCI researches conducted in the IGG team.

They are also made available to students from several computer science classes offered by the University of Strasbourg, in particular to the students from the Master "Informatique et Sciences de l'Image" (Computer science and image sciences).

Contacts also exist with the VR platform set up by the Alsace region and operated by Holo3.


Contact

For any additional information, please contact Thierry Blandet, research engineer attached to the IGG team, technical head of the platform.

InVirtuo

Aller à : navigation, rechercher


L'expérience virtuelle

WBGeneralSide.jpg

La plateforme de réalité virtuelle IN VIRTUO—l'expérience virtuelle offerte par ICube s'appuie principalement sur la mise à disposition de ressources matérielles, sous la forme:

  • d'un plan de travail virtuel immersif (workbench);
  • d'un mur immersif augmenté d'un périphérique haptique de grande taille (robot à câbles);
  • de périphériques haptiques individuels pour stations de travail.
IncaPyramid.JPG

Ces matériels sont complétés par la mise à disposition d'outils logiciels permettant d'en tirer le meilleur parti. En effet, outre les problématiques de développement des applications liées aux spécificités matérielles, bien exploiter ces environnements immersifs requiert une refonte complète de l'ergonomie des applications, et de l'interaction homme-machine. Pour combler le manque d'outils, de standards et de techniques existants, des développements logiciels issus des recherches de l'équipe IGG dans le domaine de l'interaction en environnement immersif sont également mis à disposition.

Workbench

WBGeneralFrontRight.jpg

Le workbench est un dispositif de réalité virtuelle immersive avec une configuration bien adaptée aux tâches de manipulation et d'interaction à distance humaine. La configuration mise à disposition offre deux écrans d'environ 2m de diagonale chacun avec un affichage en stéréoscopie active. L'immersion est également assurée grâce à un système de capture des mouvements de l'utilisateur.

Ce dispositif de visualisation immersive est assorti de plusieurs périphériques (joystick ou manettes présentant un ensemble de boutons, deux gants de données capables de mesurer les flexions des doigts de l'utilisateur ainsi que les contacts). Un robot à câbles SPIDAR, capable de restituer une force à son utilisateur est également disponible sur cette configuration.

Initialement installé et géré par le Centre d'Etude du Calcul Parallèle et de la Visualisation de l'ULP en février 2002, le matériel disponible a largement évolué et se trouve aujourd'hui majoritairement opéré par l'équipe IGG. En effet, fin 2007, le système de projection a été entièrement renouvelé grâce au financement du CPER IRMC thème Réalité Virtuelle. Son accès reste toujours libre à l'ensemble de la communauté des chercheurs de l'Université de Strasbourg.


Mur immersif visuel & haptique

IncaHardware.JPG

Ce dispositif immersif hybride a pour vocation de combiner immersion visuelle et retour d'efforts. Il est constitué d'un mur immersif de 3m x 2.25m avec affichage en stéréoscopie active et capture des mouvements de l'utilisateur, combiné à un périphérique à retour d'efforts de grande taille (robot à câbles Inca de la société Haption).

Outre l'immersion visuelle, il permet donc à son utilisateur de percevoir un retour haptique complet (forces et couples) et offre un volume de manipulation important (de l'ordre d'un mètre-cube).

Ce dispositif de réalité virtuelle immersive a été installé début 2011. Son financement a été apporté par le CPER IRMC. Le robot haptique a été financé et installé en collaboration avec l'équipe Automatique, Vision et Robotique du LSIIT.


Périphériques haptiques

Des périphériques haptiques classiques à destination d'un usage sur bureau sont également disponibles. Il s'agit de périphériques Phantom de la société Sensable, à 6 et 3 degrés de libertés.

Logiciels & développements propres

La majorité des programmes développés s'appuie sur la bibliothèque VRJuggler pour s'abstraire de la configuration matérielle exécutant le programme (de la distribution et de la synchronisation de l'application le cas échéant, ainsi que de la gestion de la plupart des périphériques). Les deux dispositifs (workbench et mur immersif) offrent l'accès aux systèmes d'exploitation GNU/Linux et Windows. A noter que toute application est à même d'exploiter les dispositifs de visualisation directement, sous réserve de gérer elle-même la stéréoscopie, la capture de mouvements, ainsi que les éventuels périphériques requis.

Divers développements logiciels réalisés au sein de l'équipe IGG du LSIIT sont également mis à disposition afin de tirer partie des matériels de la plateforme. Organisés sous la forme de modules indépendants, chacun est destinés à offrir une fonctionnalité de haut niveau comme une technique d'interaction issue des recherches menées sur l'interaction en environnement immersif, ou comme la communication avec un type de périphérique donné. On y trouve ainsi la VRLIB, une boîte à outils de contrôles utilisable en environnement immersif ou encore le menu C3 qui offre un contrôle d'application en environnement immersif.


Applications - Liens

Ces plateformes sont principalement utilisées dans le cadre des recherches en interaction menées au sein de l'équipe IGG du LSIIT.

Elles sont également mises à disposition des étudiants des différentes filières informatique proposées par l'université de Strasbourg, notamment aux étudiants du master "Informatique et Sciences de l'Image".

Des contacts existent également avec la plateforme de réalité virtuelle mise en place par la région Alsace et gérée par Holo3.


Contact

Pour toute information complémentaire, contacter Thierry Blandet, ingénieur de recherche de l'équipe IGG et responsable de la plateforme.