ExRealis

Jump to: navigation, search




ExRealis - A digitization framework

In many sectors, including industry, one can notice an increasing demand of digital content, either for the enrichment of virtual worlds, or for simulations, or for prototyping before deployment, for instance. Nowadays, many off-the-shelf 3D scanners are available, whose metrological accuracy now makes it possible the reliable measurement of real objects and the capture of faithful digital imprints. This partially leads to turn the digital content production task, so far exclusively allotted to computer graphics artists, into a technical act of data gathering, often cheaper.

Despite the improvement of shape measurement technologies, the step to go from measured data to digital content directly usable by computer graphics applications still requires many intermediate processings. Moreover, for several years, the IGG team applies itself to implement its skills in the art for the cultural heritage, a field where the sole shape measurement is not enough. Indeed, capturing the appearance is then of major importance too, since only this information gives the possibility to visualize the produced digital surrogates by simulating in a faithful manner the behaviour of materials they are made of with respect to viewing and lighting conditions. But acquiring such an information requires in turn additionnal processings.

The goal of ExRealis is to provide a unified framework that answers in an efficient manner to all of these needs. It offers several tools, devices and softwares that give the possibility to produce digital content of various nature from real data, with the purpose of supporting research works conducted by the IGG team around themes like realistic rendering, texture synthesis, virtual reality and 3D animation, as well as enabling service provisions in digitization with our partners. ExRealis proposes:

  • a range of devices and software tools covering the whole digitization processing pipeline, from data acquisition to the creation of textured 3D models;
  • some advanced methods for texture reconstruction and visualization accounting for complex lighting environments or material characteristics;
  • a motion capture system for the animation of avatars in virtual reality or biomecanic applications.



Our devices

The ExRealis framework contains several devices, detailed below, that enable the measurement of different kinds of information (geometry, colour, movement) from real scenes or real objects.


Short range scanner

This optical device based on structured light allows the 3D scanning of objects whose size ranges from 20cm to 1m. Depth measurement ranges from 80 to 120cm and the size of the produced range images is of 1280x960 pixels, which leads to an average resolution of 600 to 700 points per square cm.
The controling software has entirely been developped by our team, which thus offers a high degree of flexibility and the possibility of a complete reconfiguration, so as to adjust, for instance, the device resolution to specific needs.


Medium range scanner

The time of flight laser scanner ScanStation2 from Leica Geosystems allows depth measurement ranging from 0.2 to 300m, at a speed rate peaking to 50 000 points/sec. Moreover, a set of targets provided by the manufacturer enables the registration of point clouds acquired from different locations.
Please see the technical documentation from Leica Geosystems for more details.


Photographic equipment

Our team also has at its disposal a semi-professional photographic equipment made of a pair of Canon EOS 5D MkII bodies, as well as two sets of 24mm, 50mm et 135mm lenses.
This equipement is mainly dedicated to the acquisition of object appearance (colour, texture), but the duplication of every device piece also makes it possible, if needed, to capture pairs of stereoscopic images.


Motion capture system

This optical system, made of 12 Vicon T40 and T40S infrared cameras (4 Mpixels, 370 Hz), allows the motion capture of objects or subjects by the measurement of infrared markers trajectories in space. These trajectories may then be used, for instance, for skeleton animation of 3D characters.



Our software tools

The aforementioned devices provide only raw data. In order to produce usable digital content, these data must be processed by our software. With this in mind, we manage a continuous development process in order to integrate every tool which is useful to the creation of realistic digital models from physical real objects. These developments, based on out-of-core data structures and mechanisms for big data management, allows geometry processing (3D meshes reconstruction from digitized point clouds) as well as appearance processing (color / texture synthesis over meshes from sets of pictures).


Geometry acquisition and processing

After a 3D scanning session (namely the data gathering by itself), many processings have to be applied to the raw data produced by the scanner before obtaining a usable 3D model. These processings generally include, among other things, the following steps:

  • the cleaning, that aims at removing possible measurement errors (outliers, digitization noise, etc.);
  • the geometry registration, that performs the alignment of point clouds recovered by the scanner from different viewpoints with respect to each other;
  • the integration, thanks to which a meshed surface is obtained from measured 3D points;
  • the decimation, that provides different versions of the recovered mesh, at multiple resolutions, depending on the targeted application.

PipelineGeo EN.png

Our software covers every step of this processing pipeline, thanks either to fully automatic algorithmic solutions, or to a suitable user interface whenever user intervention is needed, like in the case of some of the cleaning tasks, for instance. We are then in position to produce, from real objects, 3D models that are correct in terms of geometry and topology, at different level of details, and that can be exported to many file formats compatible with off-the-shelf CAD softwares.


Appearance acquisition and processing

Acquiring the appearance of a real object starts from a photographic campaign, so as to measure its photometric properties. Reconstructing a texture from these pictures then requires to solve the following problems:

  • the mesh corresponding to the object, recovered thanks to a prior 3D scanning session, must be first unfolded in texture space thanks to a parameterization step, which defines the layout to be used for the storage of the appearance information to be reconstructed;
  • pictures then must be registered with respect to the object geometry, thanks to an estimation of their poses and optical parameters. These parameters allows the reprojection of the image contents onto the 3D mesh;
  • finally, chromatic samples coming from the pictures have to be processed and combined in order to produce a texture that is free from the visual artefacts commonly due to chromatic aberrations or to inaccuracies in the picture-to-geometry registration.

PipelineAppearance EN.png

Produced textures may consist either in a simple colour information, or in more advanced representation models that give not only a clue on the object's hue, but also on other properties of its material, like shininess, for instance.

The IGG team has worked on the fitting and the real-time rendering of such models, considering especially light fields. Light fields capture the appearance of an object within a given lighting environment: the one corresponding to the acquisition moment. This includes, among other things, all illumination effets related to the observer's displacement around the object (specular peaks, inter-reflections, etc.) and allows afterwards the free inspection of the digital copy with the same lighting conditions, while maintaining a high degree or realism with respect to more basic texture models.

All of these software bricks, needed for appearance acquisition, have been integrated to ExRealis, making it a powerful tool for the reconstruction of textured 3D meshes from real data.

Comparison between colour texture and light field. Reflections improve realism and offer a better understanding on the nature of the materials the object is made of.




Our skills

After 10 years working on 3D + appearance digitization, the IGG team has acquired a good expertise of the field and a savoir-faire on how to apply it to the practical cases of digitization campaigns. Within the framework of various collaborations, we have had many occasions to apply this savoir-faire through service provisions like those presented below.


Œuvre Notre Dame foundation

Within the framework of the Eveil3D project, and in partnership with the technology transfer center Holo3 and the Œuvre Notre Dame foundation, the IGG team has performed in october 2013 the digitization of two statues of the cathedral of Strasbourg. The goal was to use these statues in an immersive 3D environment for a language learning serious game. About 50cm high, they've been digitized with our short range structured light scanner. A photographic campaign has also been done so as to produce colour textures for both models.

Bear statue, cathedral of Strasbourg. From left: picture, 3D model reconstructed after geometry acquisition (35M points), textured 3D model reconstructed after appearance acquisition (55 pictures).


Bull statue, cathedral of Strasbourg. From left: picture, 3D model reconstructed after geometry acquisition (22M points), textured 3D model reconstructed after appearance acquisition (28 pictures).



Inter-university House of Human Sciences (MISHA), Strasbourg

MISHA has at its disposal a huge collection of ethnographic artefacts, and has launched some years ago a project based on the OpenSIM game engine that provides a virtual world to make it possible the study and the contextualization of these artefacts. Obviously, this requires to have digital copies of them, and so to have digitized them beforehand.

For this purpose, they contacted us in autumn 2013. They needed to produce digital copies of about ten african ethnographic objects from the Dogon tribe. Their geometry has been digitized with the short range structured light scanner, and their colour thanks to a photographic campaign.

Digital copies of three Dogon masks. From left: adone mask (antelope), kanaga mask, bird mask with a dege at the top of it.


Digital copy of a Hogon cup. Left-hand side: the cup fully assembled; right-hand side: each single piece presented separately.


Digital copies of two dege (female figurines).



Bois l'Abbé fortifications

Below are presented some renderings of a digitization we made of a part of the Bois l'Abbé fortifications (48°12'16.3"N 6°24'00.8"E), located at Uxegney near Epinal, France. The final model is made of about 63M points acquired with the Leica Scanstation 2 scanner from 20 different locations. Colour assigned to the points comes from the internal scanner camera, dedicated to data handling conveniency but not to a faithful appearance acquisition.


Gypsothèque, university of Strasbourg

We had the occasion to get in touch with the Gypsothèque of the Strasbourg university (plaster copy museum of cultural artefacts) to perform the digitization of one of their statues.

Digitized model of a statue of Aphrodite, Gypsothèque of Strasbourg.



Some digitizations made at home

Here are some models digitized in our lab in order to produce data sets for illustrating the research works of our team. Some of these 3D models are provided with light field textures, that enable to simulate illumination variations related to the observer's displacement for more realism, as explained before. It has to be noted that basic colour textures can also be exported using standard image file formats.



Collaborations

Several national and regional projects are supporting this framework:

  • Projet Interreg EVEIL3D,
  • ANR ATROCO,
  • Ministère RIAM AMI3D,
  • Région Pôle Image.



Contacts

If you have needs either for service provisions or for technology transfer, or if you are just interested by one of the models presented in this page, please send an email to Frédéric Larue, research engineer in charge of the ExRealis framework, at: flarue AT unistra.fr

ExRealis

Aller à : navigation, rechercher




ExRealis - Une plateforme pour la numérisation

Dans de nombreux secteurs, dont l'industrie, on constate un besoin croissant de contenu numérique, que ce soit pour l'enrichissement de mondes virtuels, pour des simulations ou pour du prototypage avant production, par exemple. Le commerce propose, à l'heure actuelle, de nombreux scanners 3D dont la précision, d'ordre métrologique, permet désormais la mesure fiable d'objets réels et la capture d'empreintes numériques fidèles. Cela aboutit en partie à transformer la tâche de production de contenu numérique, jusque là exclusivement dévolue aux infographistes 3D, en un acte technique de prise de données souvent moins onéreux.

Malgré l'amélioration des technologies de mesure de forme, le passage des données mesurées à un contenu numérique exploitable par des applications graphiques requière encore de nombreux traitements intermédiaires. En outre, depuis quelques années, l'équipe IGG s'applique à mettre en œuvre son savoir faire en numérisation au service du patrimoine culturel, domaine pour lequel la seule mesure de forme ne suffit pas. En effet, capturer l'apparence est alors tout aussi primordial, car c'est uniquement par cette information qu'il devient possible de restituer de manière réaliste les copies numériques produites, en simulant de la manière la plus fidèle qui soit le comportement des matériaux qui les composent par rapport aux conditions d'éclairage et d'observation. Mais l'acquisition d'une telle information requière elle aussi des traitements additionnels.

C'est pour répondre efficacement à l'ensemble de ces besoins que la plateforme ExRealis a été conçue. Elle offre un certain nombre d'outils, équipements et logiciels permettant de produire du contenu numérique de différentes natures à partir de données réelles, avec pour objectif de soutenir les travaux de recherche menés par l'équipe IGG autour de thématiques comme le rendu réaliste, la synthèse de texture, la réalité virtuelle ou encore l'animation 3D, mais également de permettre des prestations variées de numérisation auprès de partenaires. Elle propose notamment:

  • un éventail d'équipements et d'outils logiciels couvrant l'ensemble de la chaîne de traitement en numérisation, depuis la prise de données jusqu'à la création de modèles 3D texturés;
  • des méthodes avancées de reconstruction et de visualisation de textures pouvant tenir compte d'environnements lumineux ou de caractéristiques de matériaux complexes;
  • un dispositif de capture de mouvements pour l'animation d'avatars en réalité virtuelle ou pour des applications en biomécanique.



Nos équipements

La plateforme ExRealis est dotée d'un certain nombre de dispositifs, détaillés ci-dessous, qui permettent la mesure de différentes informations (géométrie, couleur, mouvement) à partir de scènes ou d'objets réels.


Scanner courte portée

Ce dispositif optique basé sur le principe de lumière structurée permet la numérisation 3D d'objets d'une taille allant de 20cm à 1m. Sa portée est comprise entre 80 et 120cm et les images télémétriques produites ont une résolution de 1280x960, ce qui offre une définition moyenne de 600 à 700 points par cm carré.
Le logiciel de pilotage et de mesure de forme a été entièrement développé au sein de l'équipe, ce qui nous offre une grande flexibilité ainsi que la possibilité d'une reconfiguration complète du dispositif pour ajuster, par exemple, la définition à des besoins spécifiques.


Scanner moyenne portée

Le scanner laser à temps de vol ScanStation2 de Leica Geosystems permet d'effectuer des acquisitions sur une portée de 0.2 à 300m avec une vitesse allant jusqu'à 50 000 points/sec. Un jeu de cibles fourni par le constructeur permet également de recaler les nuages de points provenant de différentes stations.
Voir également la fiche technique de Leica Geosystems pour de plus amples informations.


Matériel photographique

L'équipe dispose également d'un matériel photographique semi-professionnel consistant en une paire de boîtiers Canon EOS 5D MkII ainsi que deux jeux d'objectifs 24mm, 50mm et 135mm.
Ces appareils sont principalement dédiés à la capture de l'apparence (couleur, texture des objets), mais la duplication du matériel peut également permettre, au besoin, la capture de paires d'images stéréoscopiques.


Système de capture de mouvement

Ce système optique, composé de 12 caméras infrarouge Vicon T40 et T40S d'une définition de 4 Mpixels et d'une fréquence de 370 Hz, permet la capture des mouvements d'objets ou de sujets grâce à la mesure des trajectoires dans l'espace de marqueurs infrarouges. Ces trajectoires peuvent ensuite être utilisées, par exemple, pour l'animation squelettale de personnages.



Nos outils logiciels

Les dispositifs présentés ci-dessus ne fournissent que des données brutes. Afin de produire du contenu numérique exploitable, celles-ci doivent alors être retravaillées par nos logiciels. Dans cette optique, nous menons un processus continu de développement dans le but d'intégrer l'ensemble des traitements utiles à la création de modèles numériques réalistes à partir d'objets physiques réels. Ces développements, basés sur des structures de données et des mécanismes hors-mémoire pour la gestion de très grandes masses de données, permettent le traitement de la géométrie (reconstruction de maillages 3D à partir des données produites par les scanners) ainsi que le traitement de l'apparence (synthèse de couleur, texture, etc. sur ces maillages à partir de photographies).


Acquisition et traitement de la géométrie

Suite à une numérisation, c'est-à-dire à l'acte de prise de données en lui-même, de nombreux traitements doivent être appliqués aux données brutes provenant du scanner avant qu'un modèle 3D exploitable ne puisse être obtenu. De manière non exhaustive, ces traitements incluent généralement les étapes suivantes:

  • le nettoyage, qui vise à supprimer d'éventuels artefacts de mesure (points aberrants, bruit de numérisation, etc.);
  • le recalage géométrique, qui permet l'alignement les uns par rapport aux autres des nuages de points acquis par le scanner depuis différents points de vue;
  • l'intégration, grâce à laquelle une surface maillée peut être obtenue à partir des points 3D mesurés;
  • la décimation, qui permet de décliner le maillage 3D obtenu en différentes résolutions, en fonction de l'application visée.

PipelineGeo.png

Notre logiciel couvre l'intégralité des étapes de cette chaîne de traitements, soit grâce à des solutions algorithmiques totalement automatisées, soit à l'aide d'une interface adéquate lorsque l'intervention de l'utilisateur est requise, comme dans le cas de certaines tâches de nettoyage des données, par exemple. Nous sommes donc en mesure de produire, à partir d'objets réels, des modèles 3D propres (autant d'un point de vue géométrique que topologique), à différents niveaux de détails, et pouvant être exportés en de nombreux formats compatibles avec les logiciels de CAO/DAO du marché.


Acquisition et traitement de l'apparence

Acquérir l'apparence d'un objet réel commence par une campagne photographique de ce dernier, afin d'en mesurer les propriétés photométriques. La reconstruction d'une texture à partir des images ainsi acquises demande alors de résoudre certains problèmes:

  • le maillage correspondant à l'objet, issu d'une numérisation 3D préalable, doit d'abord être déplié en espace texture par une étape de paramétrisation qui va définir l'agencement de l'espace de stockage pour l'information d'apparence à reconstruire;
  • les photographies doivent ensuite être mises en correspondance avec la géométrie de l'objet, grâce à une estimation de la pose et des paramètres optiques de chacune d'elles. Ces paramètres permettent alors de reprojeter le contenu des images sur le maillage;
  • les échantillons chromatiques provenant des photos doivent enfin être traités et combinés de manière à produire une texture exempte des artefacts généralement liés aux aberrations chromatiques ou aux erreurs dans l'estimation des paramètres lors de la mise en correspondance images / objet 3D.

PipelineAppearance.png

Les textures produites peuvent consister, soit en une simple information couleur, soit en des modèles de représentation plus évolués permettant de donner une indication non seulement sur la teinte mais également sur certaines propriétés du matériau, telles que la brillance, par exemple.

L'équipe IGG a travaillé sur l'estimation et le rendu temps réel de tels modèles, en s'attaquant notamment aux champs de lumière. Ces derniers capturent l'apparence d'un objet dans un environnement lumineux donné: celui correspondant au moment de l'acquisition. Cela inclut notamment tous les effets d'illumination liés au déplacement de l'observateur autour de l'objet (pics spéculaires, inter-réflexions, etc.), ce qui permet a posteriori d'examiner librement la copie numérique dans les mêmes conditions d'éclairage tout en conservant un très haut degré de réalisme par rapport à des modèles de textures plus simplistes.

Toutes ces briques logicielles, nécessaires à l'acquisition de l'apparence, ont été intégrées à la plateforme ExRealis, ce qui en fait un outil puissant pour la reconstruction de maillages 3D texturés à partir de données réelles.

Comparaison entre texture couleur et champ de lumière. Les reflets apparents augmentent le réalisme et permettent de mieux appréhender la nature des matériaux.




Notre savoir-faire

Après plus de 10 ans de travail autour de la numérisation 3D + apparence, l'équipe IGG a su acquérir une bonne expertise du domaine et un savoir-faire quant à la mise en œuvre de ces outils pour des cas pratiques de campagnes de numérisation. Dans le cadre de différentes collaborations, nous avons ainsi eu l'occasion de mettre en application ce savoir-faire au travers de prestations telles que celles présentées ci-dessous.


Fondation de l'Œuvre Notre Dame

Dans le cadre du projet Eveil3D et en partenariat avec le CRIIT Holo3 et la Fondation de l'Œuvre Notre Dame, l'équipe IGG a effectué en octobre 2013 la numérisation de deux statues de la cathédrale de Strasbourg. L'objectif était de mettre ces statues en situation dans un scénario d'apprentissage en environnement immersif. Hautes d'environ 50 cm, elles ont été numérisées à l'aide du scanner courte portée à lumière structurée. Une campagne photographique a de surcroit permis d'en acquérir l'apparence afin de produire des textures couleur pour ces modèles.

Statue ours, cathédrale de Strasbourg. De gauche à droite: photographie, vues du modèle 3D reconstruit après numérisation de la géométrie (35M de points), vues du modèle 3D texturé après numérisation de l'apparence (55 photographies).


Statue taureau, cathédrale de Strasbourg. De gauche à droite: photographie, vues du modèle 3D reconstruit après numérisation de la géométrie (22M de points), vues du modèle 3D texturé après numérisation de l'apparence (28 photographies).



Maison Inter-universitaire des Siences de l'Homme (MISHA)

La MISHA dispose d'une grande collection d'objets ethnographiques, et a lancé il y a quelques années un projet de monde virtuel basé sur le moteur OpenSIM pour permettre de les étudier ou de les mettre en situation. Cela nécessite bien évidemment d'avoir un modèle numérique des pièces en question, et donc de les avoir préalablement numérisées.

Elle a donc fait appel à nos compétences à l'automne 2013 pour produire les copies numériques d'une dizaine d'objets ethnographiques d'origine africaine, de la tribu Dogon. Ceux-ci ont été numérisés à l'aide du scanner courte portée à lumière structurée pour la gréométrie, et grâce à une campagne photographique pour la couleur.

Copies numériques de trois masques dogons. De gauche à droite: masque adone (antilope), masque kanaga, masque d'un oiseau surmonté d'un dege.


Copie numérique d'une coupe de Hogon. Assemblée à droite, puis chaque pièce présentée de manière distincte à gauche.


Copies numériques de deux statuettes féminines dege.



Fort de Bois l'Abbé

Ci-dessous sont présentés quelques rendus issus de la numérisation que nous avons faite d'une partie du Fort de Bois l'Abbé (48°12'16.3"N 6°24'00.8"E), situé à Uxegney près d'Epinal. Le modèle final compte environ 63 millions de points, capturés à l'aide du scanner Leica Scanstation 2 depuis 20 positions différentes sur le site. Les couleurs attribuées aux points sont issues de la caméra interne du scanner, destinée à la manipulation et non à une capture fidèle de l'apparence.


Gypsothèque de l'Université de Strasbourg

Nous avons eu l'occasion d'entrer en contact avec la Gypsothèque de l'université de Strasbourg (musée de copies en plâtre d'œuvres d'art) pour effectuer la numérisation d'une de leurs statues.

Modèle numérisé d'une statue d'Aphrodite, Gypsothèque de Strasbourg.



Quelques numérisations en laboratoire

Voici quelques modèles numérisés dans nos locaux afin de produire des jeux de données servant à illustrer les travaux de recherche de l'équipe IGG. Certains de ces modèles 3D sont munis d'une texture de type champ de lumière, permettant de simuler les variations d'illumination liées aux déplacement de l'observateur pour plus de réalisme, ainsi que nous l'avons présenté plus haut. Pour ceux-là, une texture couleur classique peut également être exportée dans les formats d'image standards.



Collaborations

Plusieurs projets nationaux et régionaux sont associés à cette plateforme:

  • Projet Interreg EVEIL3D,
  • ANR ATROCO,
  • Ministère RIAM AMI3D,
  • Région Pôle Image.



Contacts

Si vous avez des besoins, que ce soit en termes de prestations ou de transfert technologique autour de la numérisation, ou si vous êtes simplement intéressés par l'un des modèles présentés sur cette page, vous pouvez contacter Frédéric Larue, ingénieur de recherche en charge de la plateforme ExRealis, à l'adresse mail suivante: flarue AT unistra.fr